The DWI Task Force of the Baton Rouge Police Department has a specially-equipped vehicle where field sobriety tests can be administered as well as the breathalyzer. If you have been under arrest in Baton Rouge for DWI, chances are you have visited the inside of the van. The Task Force van moves around Baton Rouge, changing its location frequently. However, if you notice one nearby, there will likely be some arrests for DWI in that area.
Being arrested and charged with a DWI in Louisiana is a serious dilemma. A DWI conviction can make it more difficult to obtain employment and acceptance to schools. If you or someone you know has a DWI charge, contact Baton Rouge DWI lawyer, Carl Barkemeyer, at (225) 964-6720.
The Baton Rouge prosecutor’s office now offers a pre-trial intervention program for minors in possession of alcohol. This program is similar to the DWI pre-trial program. A common occurrence is for minors to acquire this charge while drinking and tailgating at LSU football games.
The $750, four-month program is intended for first-time offenders who face Minor In Possession charges. The misdemeanor will be dismissed once the defendant successfully complete the program. The defendant can then file a motion to expunge the arrest. An expungement is the removal of the arrest or summons from one’s record. However, be aware that law enforcement, some state agencies, and professional boards would still have access to a criminal record even with an expunged arrest. Therefore, even the misdemeanor charge of Minor in Possession of Alcohol in Louisiana may affect your future plans, such as applying to medical school or a state job.
To learn more about the Baton Rouge Minor in Possession of Alcohol Charge go to Minor in Possession Charge presented by Baton Rouge MIP Defense Attorney Carl Barkemeyer.
Over the four-month period, offenders will be subject to random drug tests, to attend MADD victim impact panel classes and AA meetings, perform 16 hours of community service, substance abuse evaluations, and attend driver improvement school.
Of course, instead of enrolling in the pre-trial intervention program, the other option would be to plead guilty or go to trial.
The fine for Minor in Possession of Alcohol still remains at $300.
If you have been arrested and charged with MIP or DWI, contact Baton Rouge DWI and MIP Defense Attorney Carl Barkemeyer. He will be able to review your record to explore possible defenses to these criminal charges.
To learn more about misdemeanor charges in Louisiana, go to Misdemeanor Charges in Louisiana presented by Baton Rouge Misdemeanor Defense Attorney Carl Barkemeyer.