If the value of the alleged stolen property is $750 or greater, the charge becomes a felony theft. If the value is between $750-less than $5000, the sentencing range is up to 5 years in prison. If the value is over $5000-less than 25,000 the sentencing range is up to 10 years. If the alleged value is $25,000 or greater, the sentencing range is 5-20 years with or without hard labor.
It is not necessary to have the marijuana in your pocket to get convicted of possession of marijuana. The legal concept is called constructive possession. For instance, when a lady sets her purse down, that does not mean that she no longer possesses the purse. All the facts must be examined.
First offense possession of marijuana in Louisiana is a misdemeanor. Second offense possession is a felony that carries up to 5 years in prison. Third offense possession of marijuana carries up to 20 years.
It depends on the circumstances of your case and any prior refusals, submittals, or DWI convictions.
That all depends on how your case is handled. It is very important to know that you have only 30 days from the date of arrest to request an administrative hearing to fight for your license regarding the proposed suspension of it for refusing to take the breathalyzer or blowing over the limit.
When the officer takes your license, he should issue a paper temporary license. It is a thin, white, sheet that says your license is good for 30 days.
No. Under Louisiana law, when a person who is under 21 years of age blows over .08, the legal limit for those 21 years of age and older, he will be charged with DWI under the statute for those 21 and older. The penalties are much harsher.