DWI Lawyers Serving All Areas of Louisiana

04Dec

Drug Info Portal

Adderall

College Students & Drug Charges

Cocaine & Crack

Creation of Meth Lab

Distribution

Drug Paraphernalia

Fentanyl

Firearms & Drugs

Heroin

Louisiana Drug Charges

Marijuana Laws in Louisiana

Manufacturing

Obtaining CDS by Fraud

Possession

Possession With Intent

Possession of Legend Drug

Steroids

Synthetic Cannabinoids

Trafficking

Violation of CDS Laws

Xanax

drug crimes lawyer in louisiana

 

Like most of the other states in the US, the consumption of weed in Louisiana is illegal. However, there are certain exceptions when it comes to the use and distribution of weed. Recently, the distribution and use of marijuana for medical use only have been made legal in the state and in about more than 25 states of the country. While marijuana for medical use is legal, you could spend a couple of years behind bars if you are found in possession of weed in the state if not prescribed by a physician. While most people may not know they could spend a considerable amount of time behind bars, they’ll find it surprising to know that they may also be required by the presiding judge to pay exorbitant fines that may take a toll of their savings. To ensure that you or your loved one do not have to go through this, there are certain things you’d need to know about the Louisiana weed laws.

There are a couple of things you should know when it comes to the Louisiana weed laws and, in this piece, we’ll take a look at a few of these things;

  1. You May Be Imprisoned

According to the laws of Louisiana, individuals that are found in possession of weed that is up to 14 grams or less than that may be required by the presiding judge to spend at least 15 days behind bars.

Individuals found with less than 2 and a half pounds and more than 14 grams of marijuana may be required by the presiding judge to spend at least 6 months behind bars. While you may think that spending at least 15 days behind bars is not a big deal, you will find it interesting to know that second convictions may attract a 6 months imprisonment while third conviction will attract two years imprisonment and the fourth conviction will attract 8 years imprisonment. With this in mind, it is best that you take the right measure to ensure that you do not have to spend even a day behind bars.

  1. You Will Be Fined

According to the Louisiana weed laws, offenders may be required to pay a fine of $300 if they possess 14 gram worth of marijuana. Also, an offender may be required to pay a fine of $500 when found with 2 and a half pounds of marijuana. Surprisingly, an offender may be required by the presiding judge to pay a fine of up to $5,000. Although, this depends on the number of convictions you have had prior to this time.

  1. Distributing Marijuana Attracts More Penalties

According to the laws of the state, individuals who possess marijuana with the intent to distribute or sell will be made to face harsher punishment. To explain better, first-time offenders may be required by the presiding judge to pay a fine of up to $50,000 or may be required to spend 3 to 5 years in jail. Further convictions may attract a fine of up to $100,000 and a 10 to 60 years jail time.

In addition to this mentioned above, offenders that are above the age of 18 found selling to minors (people below the age of 18) will be made to spend a maximum of 45 years in jail. Further convictions may attract up to 90 years of imprisonment.

  1. The Louisiana Weed Laws Apply to Derivatives and Supplements

According to the laws of the state, marijuana possession and consumption with or without the intent to distribute also includes the possession of derivatives, supplements, and tetrahydrocannabinol. While most people are not aware, possession of these marijuana supplements for recreational use attracts the same penalties and fines that the plant form of marijuana attract.

  1. Drug-Free Zones

There are certain zones that have been tagged “Drug-Free Zones” in this state and others in the country. Some of the zones include; elementary schools, universities, high schools, public housings, religious centers, drug treatment facilities, child care centers, and playgrounds.

Offenders will be required to face 1.5 times the maximum punishment that is to be meted out to others.

  1. You Do Not Have to Go to Jail

While we have mentioned the penalties to be meted out to offenders, it is best that you know that you do not have to spend even a day in jail. Spending time in jail even for a day is capable of tainting the almost perfect image you’ve struggled your whole life to build. You could end up losing your job or be denied that insurance coverage or loan you need and qualify for. To prevent these things from happening to you, it is important that you seek help.

The best thing to do is to hire the services of a well-trained and experienced criminal defense attorney to represent your case in court. These defense attorneys have been trained to defend offenders like you. When charged with this case, the first thing to do would be to hire a defense attorney, why? First, a defense attorney will ensure that your case is presented in court as soon as possible. Secondly, a well-trained and experienced defense attorney will make use of special courtroom tactics to ensure that the case is overturned in your favor. These defense attorneys are familiar with the various weed laws in the state and will look for certain tiny yet significant loopholes that can be exploited to ensure you walk out a free man or woman. Hire an experienced criminal defense attorney now.

  1. The Best Criminal Defense Attorney in Louisiana

Carl Barkemeyer one of the leading and most experienced criminal defense attorneys in the country is now offering his services to Louisiana weed law defendants. At Carl Barkemeyer, we have a team of well-meaning, experienced, and well-trained criminal defense attorneys that are capable of representing you in court.

While we do not promise you guaranteed win, our team of criminal defense attorneys will put in their best to ensure that you are free. Give us a call at 225-964-6720. Learn more on Louisiana marijuana laws here.

SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION WITH OUR LAWYERS

Louisiana DWI & Criminal Lawyers

criminal lawyer

Louisiana criminal lawyers and DWI attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm providing legal defense services for clients in Baton Rouge, Ascension, Livingston, Tangipahoa, Port Allen, Alexandria, New Orleans, Lafayette, Metairie, Kenner, Gretna, Hahnville, Chalmette, Slidell, St. Tammany, St. Charles, St. John, St. Bernard, Mandeville, Covington, Shreveport, Bossier, Jefferson, Monroe, Lake Charles and all of Louisiana.

DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.

criminal defense law firm that accepts credit cards

Louisiana DWI And Criminal Law Firm

Barkemeyer Law Firm has multiple locations in Louisiana. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

 
© 2024 Barkemeyer Law Firm