First Offense DWI in Louisiana

 

DWI Info Portal

 

Call 225-964-6720

 

If this is your first time being arrested in Louisiana, you may be scared and unsure about what to do. I have been representing clientsfirst offense dwi in louisiana charged with DWI first offense in Louisiana for over 13 years. I know how to help you get through this DWI arrest so your record will be protected.  You may be wondering if you will go to jail and lose your driver’s license. You may be wondering how much the DWI is going to cost you.  I can certainly answer all these questions for you which will ease your mind and help you sleep. Since it is a lot of information, contact me at 225-964-6720 to discuss your case.

La RS 14:98.1. Operating while intoxicated; first offense; penalties

            A.(1) Except as modified by the provisions of Paragraphs (2) and (3) of this Subsection, on a conviction of a first offense violation of R.S. 14:98, the offender shall be fined not less than three hundred dollars nor more than one thousand dollars, and shall be imprisoned for not less than ten days nor more than six months. Imposition or execution of sentence under this Paragraph shall not be suspended unless the offender is placed on probation with the minimum conditions that he complete all of the following:

            (a) Serve forty-eight hours in jail, which shall not be suspended, or in lieu thereof, perform no less than thirty-two hours of court-approved community service activities, at least half of which shall consist of participation in a litter abatement or collection program.

            (b) Participate in a court-approved substance abuse program, which may include an assessment by a licensed clinician to determine if the offender has a diagnosis of substance abuse disorder. Nothing herein shall prohibit the court from modifying the portions of the program as may be applicable and appropriate to an individual offender as shown by the assessment.

            (c) Participate in a court-approved driver improvement program.

            (d) Except as provided by Subparagraph (3)(c) of this Subsection, the court may order that the offender not operate a motor vehicle during the period of probation, or such shorter time as set by the court, unless any vehicle, while being operated by the offender, is equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device in compliance with the requirements of R.S. 14:98.5(C) and R.S. 32:378.2.

            (2) If the offender had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15 percent or more but less than 0.20 percent by weight based on grams of alcohol per one hundred cubic centimeters of blood, at least forty-eight hours of the sentence imposed pursuant to Paragraph (1) of this Subsection shall be served without the benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence, and is to be served in addition to any sentence of imprisonment imposed pursuant to Subparagraph (1)(a) of this Subsection, provided that the total period of imprisonment upon conviction of the offense, including imprisonment for default in payment of a fine or costs, shall not exceed six months.

            (3)(a) If the offender had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.20 percent or more by weight based on grams of alcohol per one hundred cubic centimeters of blood, the offender shall be fined not less than seven hundred fifty dollars nor more than one thousand dollars and at least forty-eight hours of the sentence imposed pursuant to Paragraph (1) of this Subsection shall be served without the benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence, and is to be served in addition to any sentence of imprisonment imposed pursuant to Subparagraph (1)(a) of this Subsection, provided that the total period of imprisonment upon conviction of the offense, including imprisonment for default in payment of a fine or costs, shall not exceed six months.

            (b) In addition to any penalties imposed under this Section, upon conviction of a first offense, if the offender had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.20 percent or more by weight based on grams of alcohol per one hundred cubic centimeters of blood, the driver's license of the offender shall be suspended for two years.

            (c) The court shall require that the offender not operate a motor vehicle during the period of probation unless any vehicle, while being operated by the offender, is equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device in compliance with the requirements of R.S. 14:98.5(C) and R.S. 32:378.2. The ignition interlock device shall remain installed and operative on his vehicle during the first twelve-month period of suspension of his driver's license following the date of conviction.

            B. Nothing in this Section shall prohibit a court from sentencing an offender to serve any portion of the sentence under home incarceration pursuant to R.S. 14:98.5, either in lieu of, or in addition to, a term of imprisonment if otherwise allowed under the provisions of Code of Criminal Procedure Article 894.2 and R.S. 14:98.5(B).

            C. An offender may apply for a restricted driver's license to be in effect during the entire period of suspension upon proof to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections that his motor vehicle has been equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device in compliance with the requirements of R.S. 32:378.2.

            Acts 1997, No. 1296, §2, eff. July 15, 1997; Acts 2014, No. 385, §1, eff. Jan. 1, 2015.

"Great attorney - very detailed and knowledgeable.
I will recommend him to anyone and if needed I'd consult with him again.!"