Is a No Seat Belt Ticket a Moving Violation Louisiana?
The Louisiana statute for a no seatbelt violation is located at La. R.S. 32:295.1. The statute provides for a $25 fine plus court costs upon first offense and a $50 fine plus court costs upon second offense. The common concern an individual has upon receiving a No Seat Belt violation is whether or not it will cause his/her insurance premiums to rise.
Is No Seat Belt a moving violation in Louisiana?
Yes, according to AAMVA, it is a moving violation. This is the source referred to to determine such status. However, La. R.S. 32:853 provides that the operating (driving) record of an individual shall NOT include citations requiring the use of a seatbelt. Therefore, a No Seat Belt violation should not appear on one’s driving record for their insurer to view. However, it is a moving violation for purposes of the DMV and license validation and suspension considerations, if the conviction is for No Seat Belt Second Offense.
This information is opinion only and not intended to be formal legal advice.