In the state of Louisiana, carrying a concealed weapon is considered a crime except with a permit but the legal possession of a gun from people 17 and above is considered legal in the eyes of the Louisiana law. If a person is facing a gun charge, the next thing they should do is contact a criminal defense attorney to help them out in their case.
In a situation where you have a permit, you can carry a concealed handgun to quite a number of places in the state of Louisiana. In a situation where you do not have this permit, it is illegal to intentionally hide your gun from other people, especially near your body. This also goes for other forms of dangerous weapons. A person who is convicted for this particular crime can spend up to 6 months in jail or could face a fine of 500 dollars. In some cases, both. However, these penalties tend to increase significantly for more convictions in relation to gun charges.
In a situation where the gun was used to carry out a criminal offense or commit a violent crime or possession of an illegal drug, they would be charged separately and punished accordingly.
Regardless of the permit you have, it is illegal to carry a concealed handgun to certain places such as:
· Places of worship unless permitted.
· Permitted demonstrations as well as parades.
· Someone else’s residence with due consent
· Places where guns are banned.
A person can be charged with a crime if they carry a concealed handgun when they are under the influence of any illegal drug or any alcoholic substance. It is also prohibited for them to use these guns in a negligent manner. This simply means holding the gun in a way people fear it may be discharged or that you are about to commit a criminal offense.
Bringing weapons to bars and schools are not allowed in the state of Louisiana. This is because of the restrictions that a person isn’t allowed to bring a weapon to or near a school or school property. This also includes colleges as well as university campuses. It is also prohibited in places where alcohol gets served.
It is illegal to carry a gun or other dangerous weapon on school property and this includes K-12 schools, universities, colleges, tech schools and so much more. It is also illegal to try on in school buses or within a thousand feet from school property. However, there are exceptions to these rules and they include:
· Guns which are kept in motor vehicles
· School employees who are performing what their duties entail.
· Owning a private property or home which is within a thousand feet of a school property
· Law enforcement officers
· Students who moving a gun grim their cars to their dorm rooms
· Students who are carrying it for a class which requires the use of firearms
· People permitted by the school authority to carry a gun
People found guilty for there could face up to 6 months in jail or a fine of 500 dollars. In some cases, both. Subsequent convictions could bring about much stiffer penalties.
A person can face up to 6 months in jail or a fine of 500 dollars and in some cases, both if they are found carrying a gun intentionally to a bar or any establishment where alcohol is sold for consumption. This is except they are in a restaurant and possess a permit.
The state of Louisiana places some restrictions on gun possession due to criminal history or age as the case may be. People who have been charged with one case or another including domestic violence offenders are not permitted to carry a gun.
Such a person can be charged with a felony and have to face 5-20 years imprisonments which could include a fine if it is discovered they have been convicted of the following;
· Domestic violence
· Any form of battery and assault
· Any form of violent crime that could have led to death or serious bodily injury
This prohibition is applied for a period of 10 years after they have completed their previous sentence before they are allowed to purchase one. It is also considered illegal to sell or give a gun to a person you know is prohibited by the law from possessing a gun. Such a person could have to face mandatory prison time of up to 5 years and the addition of a fine is possible.
Minors who are under the age of 18 could possess rifles as well as shotguns in Louisiana but they are prevented from having handguns. This is only exempted when their parents give written permission or they are on a target shooting or legal hunting exercise. It is also allowed if they are on private property and have the consent of the property owner as well as their parents. If they are charged, they are punished with 90 days to 6 months in jail which includes a fine and penalties tend to increase with subsequent convictions.
Being convicted for any reason, especially gun-related charges can cause a lot of harm to a person and can even lead to loss of jobs and difficulty in securing a new one. Although the state of Louisiana has strict penalties with long sentences and fines for gun-related offenses, you still have the right of legal representation. You can consult a local criminal defense attorney as soon as you can. Here at Carl Barkemeyer's criminal defense attorney, we give you the most aggressive representation you could possibly ask for in court as we walk you through it all. A great attorney should be able to explain how the law applies to a particular situation which in this case is yours and prepares a strong defense and that is what we do here at Carl Barkemeyer with our years of experience.