Legal Limit of Alcohol to Drive in Louisiana
In Louisiana, driving under the influence of alcohol is a very serious offense, and your blood alcohol concentration level is mostly used to determine if you were driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs. When you get arrested for reckless driving and a DWI related case, you will be required to undergo a blood Alcohol Level Test. If you fail the test, you will be asked to pay a very huge fine or risk being sent to jail for a very long period of time.
The Blood Alcohol Concentration Level Test
The Blood Alcohol Concentration Level Test is a test that shows the blood alcohol concentration level in the body. In Louisiana, you will be given a DWI when you are caught driving which a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% and above whether your vision and driving ability is impaired or not. There is a law which states that once you are in control of a vehicle, you are always requested to submit your chemical test in order to know the amount of alcohol in your bloodstream. If the amount surpasses the limit, then you may be given a DWI or DUI, and your license may be confiscated.
Louisiana is a state that makes it compulsory for you to take the blood alcohol test, especially as a driver. That’s why most people go ahead to install breathalyzers in their vehicles. Failure or refusal to take the test is seen as a crime, and it could lead to serious punishment which could result in a lot of problems for you. Once you refuse to take the test, it could lead to 1-year suspension of your driver’s license. During this time, you may be eligible to obtain a hardship license. After this, when you are caught again, you stand the risk of spending 2 days in jail with substance abuse therapy.
Those drivers less than 21 years, the blood alcohol level is 0.02%. However, failure or refusal to also take these tests will also result in having the same punishment as those drivers who are above 21.
The Blood Alcohol, Concentration Level test, is one that is of paramount importance especially as a driver in Louisiana. Once you drive a vehicle, you will always be required to take the test at one point or the other. Always ensure that you are not found having more than the required level of 0.08% or you may risk having your license revoked.
Implied Blood Alcohol Concentration Test
As a driver, this blood alcohol concentration test is very compulsory and trying to resist it may be a very serious crime. However, in a case where you are caught with a high blood alcohol concentration level or you refuse to go for the blood alcohol concentration test, and you are caught, there are always good lawyers to defend you at all time when it comes to these matters. These lawyers are called DWI Lawyer Baton Rouge, and a very good one is Carl Barkemeyer. He is well grounded in the job as a DWI Lawyer Baton Rouge.