Criminal Attorneys & DWI Lawyers in Covington, New Orleans, and Shreveport Louisiana

Lafayette Criminal & DWI Defense

DWI Lawyers in Lafayette, Louisiana

national college dui defense
criminal defense attorney and DWI lawyer
dui defense
A+ rating for Barkemeyer Law Firm
best criminal lawyer in Louisiana
best criminal attorney in Louisiana
superb dwi lawyer in lafayette
Best Criminal Defense Attorney in Louisiana

Top-Trusted Lafayette DUI and DWI Defense Law Firm

Barkemeyer Law Firm is a trusted OWI, DUI, and DWI defense law firm located in Lafayette Louisiana. Take a look at our location on this page here and view our other locations here.

We have successfully helped clients facing a number of DWI and DUI charges. You can look at some of our practice areas here and schedule your consultation today.

Lafayette DWI Law Firm Practice Areas

how do bail bonds work

Bail for DWI

Temporary License

dmv

DMV Hearing

drug test results dwi

Blood Analysis

DWI 2nd

penalties for DWI

Penalties

child endangerment laws

Child Endangerment

dwi checkpoint

DWI Checkpoints

expungement louisiana

DWI Expungements

reckless driving

Reckless Driving

FAQs

You basically have two cases: criminal and administrative (license).

DWI is a crime. If you are convicted, you will be considered to have a criminal conviction on your record. The criminal case takes place in a courthouse. You and your lawyer will go to a courtroom and deal with a prosecutor and judge. This is the stage where we examine the reports and video and choose to go to trial, plead guilty, or work it out with the prosecutor. Usually, the court date is the appearance date on your bond paperwork or at the bottom of your ticket.


The Administrative Hearing is requested by your attorney within 30 days from the date of arrest. Be sure not to miss this time period or else you lose the right to request it. This Hearing is so we can fight the proposed suspension of your driver’s license. The State will attempt to suspend your license if you refused the breathalyzer or blew over the limit. You will be given a 30-day temporary license after the arrest. We will request the hearing to make the State prove they can take your license.

DWI defined: The operation of a vehicle when the operator is under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

DWI and DUI are the same in Louisiana. They fall under the same statute. Operating a vehicle wile under the influence or drugs, whether prescribed or not, alcohol, or both is illegal. So, if you blew 0.00, but you were still arrested for DUI, the officer must have thought you were under the influence of drugs. He can request you take a drug test and he can get a search warrant to take blood for the drug test.

Underage DWI BAC is .02. However, if a minor blows over .08, he or she may be charged with regular DWI, which carries harsher penalties.

DWI first and second offense is a misdemeanor. Sentencing may include jail time, probation, community service, and participation in a driver improvement and substance abuse program(s). The sentence for a DWI second offense in Louisiana is 30 days to six months in jail, and 48 hours of the sentence must be served. The judge can suspend all but the 48 hours. Sometimes, we are able to get home incarceration for our clients for that 48 hours. It just depends on the facts and circumstances of the case. The fine is $750 - $1000. The judge must also order the defendant to complete 240 hours of community service, participate in a driver improvement program, do a substance abuse evaluation and/or treatment, and other conditions.

DWI third offense and beyond is a felony. A conviction of third offense DWI may result in up to 5 years in prison and possibly 10 years for fourth offense DWI. DWI Third Offense is a felony in Louisiana punishable for 1-5 years and a fine of up to $2000. This is a very serious charge not to be taken lightly. The legislature has made the law so that the defendant must be sentenced to prison. However, recent changes have allowed for exceptions if the defendant completes a drug division program. This is an extremely intense program.

Your driver’s license may be suspended if you are convicted of DWI.
However, you may be eligible to apply for a hardship license. The hardship license will require you to install the ignition interlock device in your car and show proof to the DMV. Do not get caught driving without the hardship license if your license is suspended. You could then be facing another criminal charge of Driving Under Suspension which has a mandatory sentence of one-year suspension of your license. If you need a hardship license, go to the DMV and ask.

If you refuse the breathalyzer, you may lose your driver’s license for one year. If you submit and blow over the legal limit, you may lose your license for 90 days. If you submit and blow over .20, you could lose your license for 2 years. If you are convicted of DWI, you may lose your license for one year.

 

You have 30 days from the date of arrest to request an administrative hearing to get your driver’s license back. You should hire an attorney to request the hearing and conduct the administrative hearing.

Experienced & Skilled DWI Attorneys Serving Lafayette & Surrounding Areas

Barkemeyer Law Firm has been offering legal services to clients located in Lafayette Parish and many of the surrounding areas for a combined over 100 years. When it comes to defending your rights, our team offers legal defense for many different criminal offenses. Choose our firm for help with DWI/DUI, theft, drug crimes, hit and run and more.

Choosing a DUI attorney is a task that should not be taken lightly. The team at the Barkemeyer Law Firm in Lafayette knows the severity of DWI charges and how to defend our clients’s criminal record and driver’s license. Begin by filling out the form below to request information if you are under investigation.  Your information is completely secure and confidential and one of our Lafayette OWI attorneys will be in touch to offer resolution to your detrimental problem with the law.

Carl Barkemeyer wrote the published book on DWI: Practical Information for the Accused and Attorneys in Louisiana.
Carl Barkemeyer wrote the published book on DWI: Practical Information for the Accused and Attorneys in Louisiana. He regularly gives lectures and advice to other attorneys regarding how to successfully defend clients for DWI.

Our Representation Includes Other Crimes

Many times, during a DWI arrest, the police officer may include additional criminal charges. In addition to providing representation for DWI and DUI, our Lafayette DWI lawyers defend clients with other criminal charges such as reckless driving, possession of marijuana, careless operation of a vehicle, improper lane use, no license, hit and run, disturbing the peace, resisting an officer, possession of drugs, criminal damage to property, flight from an officer, theft, and other criminal charges. Our lawyers can help with all types of criminal cases in Lafayette Parish.

Court in Lafayette

If you’ve been arrested in Lafayette, then you will have court in one of the two courthouses in Lafayette, La. If the arrest was for a felony charge or if your misdemeanor summons or arrest was outside the city limits of Lafayette, you’ll have court at the 15th Judicial District Court (Lafayette Parish Court), located at 800 S Buchanan St, Lafayette, LA 70502. If you received a DWI in the city limits of Lafayette, you’ll have court at Lafayette City Court located at 105 E Convent St, Lafayette, LA 70501. You can also have court in Broussard Magistrate Court if you received a charge in the city of Broussard. Either way, the process for attending court is similar in many ways. Make sure you wear the proper attire for court which means no shorts, no hats, no cell phones, and no sleeveless tops. Be on time for court, which usually begins at 8:30 am.

Contact Our Team Of Lafayette
Criminal Defense & DWI Attorneys

Contact Us
(337) 761-3121
Address: 625 St. John Street, Lafayette, LA 70501

Choose the Lafayette DWI attorneys at Barkemeyer Law Firm today

SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION WITH OUR LAWYERS

Louisiana DWI & Criminal Lawyers

criminal lawyer

Louisiana criminal lawyers and DWI attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm providing legal defense services for clients in Baton Rouge, Ascension, Livingston, Tangipahoa, Port Allen, Alexandria, New Orleans, Lafayette, Metairie, Kenner, Gretna, Hahnville, Chalmette, Slidell, St. Tammany, St. Charles, St. John, St. Bernard, Mandeville, Covington, Shreveport, Bossier, Jefferson, and all of Louisiana.

DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.

criminal defense law firm that accepts credit cards

Louisiana DWI And Criminal Law Firm

Barkemeyer Law Firm has multiple locations in Louisiana. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

 
st. tammany chamber of commerce member
Our DWI Lawyers are members the New Orleans Chamber of Commerce
© 2023 Barkemeyer Law Firm