Louisiana Gun Laws 2024
When it comes to living in Louisiana and owning a gun, it is important you know everything you can about the Louisiana gun laws 2024. There are many parts about the laws you should be fully aware of if you own a gun, such as where you can carry them when you need a permit, where you cannot carry your gun, and other such important things.
If you ready to learn about what you need to know when it comes to the Louisiana Gun Laws 2024, then put your gun on safety, grab your laptop, and let’s get started!
We offer a Paid Consultation for those who may have questions regarding gun rights or gun charges. This can be very helpful to those who just want to have a good discussion about a situation, but don’t necessarily need to hire a lawyer, or aren’t sure if they need an attorney. There are many topics and issues we can help with such expungement eligibility, background checks, criminal gun laws, etc. Importantly, everything we discuss is confidential. If this is what you need, just click here to schedule a paid consultation with one of our experienced attorneys.
When Can I Get A Permit And What Are The Types Of Permits?
The first thing you should know about the Louisiana gun laws 2024 is when you can get a permit in Louisiana to carry a gun. The state of Louisiana requires you to be at least 21 years of age before you apply for a permit to conceal carry a gun. While you can get a gun at the age of 18, you cannot conceal carry the gun until you are 21 years of age.
Not only must you be at least 21 years of age, but you must also be a resident of Louisiana. You are not allowed to receive a concealed carry permit if you are not a resident of Louisiana. You must get your conceal carry permit from whatever state you are a resident of, and you will have to follow that state’s rules when it comes to a concealed carry permit.
There are two types of permits you can get in Louisiana for a concealed carry permit. The types are a five-year permit and a lifetime permit. Both of these types of permits are open for any resident of Louisiana who is over the age of 21 and fulfills any other state laws when it comes to concealed carry laws.
PRO TIP: Read these amazing questions to ask your criminal lawyer and get the scoop on what you should ask!
Potential Law Allowing Conceal Carry Without A Permit
As of 2024, there is a law that will potentially be passed to allow eligible landowners to conceal carry their firearms without a permit or training. It is still not yet been decided on, but it could potentially become law in Louisiana, meaning once you are of 21 years of age, you could conceal carry your firearm without having a permit.
Where Can I Carry My Firearm Legally In The State Of Louisiana
When it comes to Louisiana, many of the same places you can carry your firearm will be the same as many other states. These places, you can both conceal carry your gun your have your firearm with you. However, if a location states you cannot carry your firearm there, that takes precedence over this list.
- You can carry your firearm in state parks with a permit or license as long as the park does not say anything about no carrying firearms. If there is a sign that says you are not allowed to carry a firearm in the park then the law requires you to obey that.
- You are allowed to carry your firearm in all state and national forests with a license or permit. If the state forest has a sign that tells you that you are not allowed to carry your firearm there, then Louisiana law requires you to obey.
- Roadside rest areas are also legal areas for you to carry your firearm with a license or a permit that has been given to you by the state of Louisiana.
- Your vehicle is one of the only places you can carry your gun without a license or permit. This applies to handguns and rifles, as Louisiana laws do not prohibit you from carrying handguns or rifles in your vehicle. Always remember, though, to tell a police officer that approaches your vehicle if you have a firearm in it.
- Finally, you are allowed to carry your firearm in any part of the state that is not listed below in the next section. Always follow “No Gun” signs and use common sense when carrying firearms in Louisiana.
PRO TIP: Wanna know what to do if you get pulled over with a gun? Read this post here to find out!
Where Can I Not Carry My Firearm In Louisiana?
There are many places in the state of Louisiana where you are not allowed to carry your firearm even if you do have a permit of license for it. You are expected to obey these laws at all times regardless of the situation. Otherwise, you could face being fined or even sent to jail for a long period of time.
- You are now allowed to carry your firearm in any law enforcement building, office, or station.
- Detention facilities, prisons, and jails are off-limits for carrying a firearm.
- You are not permitted to carry your firearm in a courthouse or courtroom.
- During the voting season, you cannot carry your firearm with you to a polling place.
- Any meeting place that is part of a political subdivision of the government is prohibited grounds to carry a firearm.
- You are not allowed to carry your firearm in the state capitol.
- You can not carry your firearm with you in any part of an airport facility, but you cannot legally carry a firearm you have a license or permit for so long as it is properly enclosed for shipment legally.
- All places of worship, including but not limited to churches, synagogues, mosques, and other such religious buildings, are off-limits for firearms regardless of if you have a license or permit.
- You cannot carry a firearm with you to any type of parade or demonstration that has received a permit from the government to be held.
- You can carry your firearm with you in a restaurant, but you cannot carry it in the bar area.
- You cannot carry your firearm with you in any place that sells alcoholic beverages.
- In all schools, learning facilities, and gun-free school zones, you cannot carry a firearm.
- Finally, you are not allowed to carry your firearm with you to any place prohibited by federal law.
Must I Notify A Police Officer If I Have A Firearm In My Vehicle?
Louisiana law requires you to notify any police officer approaching you or your vehicle on official business that you have a firearm present in the vehicle. This is to help keep both them and you safe during the exchange between you and the officer. Be sure to stay calm and polite when telling them about the firearm in the vehicle to ensure nothing goes poorly.
Whenever you have a concealed handgun on your person, you must also carry your concealed carry permit, which includes your vehicle. This is so in case an officer pulls you over. So you have the proof to show you are legally allowed to be carrying your firearm.
Am I Allowed To Open Carry In Louisiana?
State law in Louisiana does allow you to open carry in the state once you reach the age of 18, unlike concealed carry, which requires you to be at least 21. The state law allows you to open carry at a much younger age but due to federal law overriding that, you must be at least 18 years old to open carry in the state.
When you are open carrying your firearm in the state, you must follow all no gun carry laws and any other gun laws in place for the area you are currently carrying your firearm. Failure to do so could lead to you receiving a hefty fine or having to serve a large amount of jail time for not obeying the laws. The last thing you want to end up with are gun charges on your record or a felony or misdemeanor.
No Weapons Signs
In Louisiana, all “No Weapons” signs are strictly enforced by the gun laws of Louisiana to ensure the safety and right of all private landowners to keep you from carrying a firearm on their land. If there is a no weapons sign on a property or a business, you must obey it, and you are not allowed to carry your firearm there. It does not matter if you think it is your constitutional right or have a concealed carry permit. You are not allowed to carry your firearm where there is a “No Weapons” sign.
Failure to obey a “No Weapons” sign will end in severe consequences for you, which could include you not being allowed to carry a firearm any longer, having to pay a hefty fine, being jailed for a period of time, or even a combination of these. And if this happens, you will certainly need to hire a criminal defense attorney to help you get things straightened out. Therefore, if there is a “No Weapons” sign, ensure you follow it so everyone can stay safe and feel comfortable.
New Orleans Gun Laws
We get a lot of calls from people that live out-of-state who are planning to travel to New Orleans and want to know if they can bring their gun. The New Orleans gun laws are similar to the rest of the state. It is illegal to conceal a gun on one’s person in New Orleans without a conceal and carry permit. If you are in the City of New Orleans, the gun law that will be applicable is Section 54-341 of the New Orleans Municipal Code. That code also prohibits concealing any other item that could be deemed a dangerous weapon such as a knife or brass knuckles.
The penalties under the New Orleans gun laws are include:
- Mandatory jail sentence of 3-6 months
- Fine $500
The penalty of jail time is very possible for violating New Orleans gun laws. The judges in Municipal Court can be very harsh on defendants charged with Illegal Carrying of Firearm, especially if the arrest took place in the French Quarter. Judges know that drug dealers go to the French Quarter to sell drugs to tourists. These drug dealers are often in illegal possession of a gun. Even if drugs aren’t found on the defendant at the time of arrest, the fact of the gun being found on the defendant causes concern for judges.
Judges don’t want people carrying guns in the French Quarter and elsewhere in New Orleans period because there are a lot of people present. When people, especially tourists, get shot in New Orleans, it creates a blemish for the city. Therefore, judges often give jail time to those who are convicted of violating the gun laws in New Orleans. It is not like getting a simple battery or possession of marijuana charge. Illegal carrying in New Orleans is taken very seriously. If you are traveling to Louisiana, it is best to keep your gun at home.
If you get arrested for violating the New Orleans gun laws, contact our criminal defense attorneys. We defend clients charged with illegal carrying of weapons in New Orleans.
Best Attorney To Handle Gun Charges In Louisiana
The Barkemeyer Law Firm has been defending clients with various gun charges in all areas of Louisiana for over 18 years. Our attorneys are very experienced and knowledgeable regarding gun rights and defenses to gun charges. Even if you think you have a bad case, we can still help by working a deal with the prosecutor to minimize the damage.
You now know Louisiana gun laws 2024: what you need to know.