Minimum Age to Legally Possess a Gun in Louisiana
The minimum age to possess a gun on your person in Louisiana is 18. However, there are exceptions to this law under La. R.S. 14:95.8 for hunting.
The Louisiana law prohibiting the possessing of a gun by an individual under age 18 does not apply to the following:
(1) Attending a hunter’s safety course or a firearms safety course.
(2) Engaging in practice in the use of a firearm or target shooting at an established range.
(3) Hunting or trapping pursuant to a valid license issued to him pursuant to the laws of this state.
(4) Traveling to or from any activity described in Paragraph (1), (2), or (3) of this Subsection while in possession of an unloaded gun.
(5) On real property with the permission of his parent or legal guardian and with the permission of the owner or lessee of the property.
(6) At such person’s residence and who, with the permission of such person’s parent or legal guardian, possesses a handgun.
(7) Possessing a handgun with the written permission of such person’s parent or legal guardian; provided that such person carries on his person a copy of such written permission.
The Louisiana law basically allows those under 18 to possess a gun if they are legally hunting and have permission by their parents. The firearm cannot be concealed or be in the presence of illegal drugs.
Penalties for Violation
First conviction – misdemeanor: The offender shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars and imprisoned for not less than 90 days and not more than 6 months.
Second conviction – felony: The offender shall be fined not more than $500 dollars and imprisoned with or without hard labor for not more than 2 years.
Third or subsequent conviction – felony: The offender shall be fined not more than $1000 and imprisoned at hard labor for not more than 5 years.
Juvenile adjudicated delinquent under this Section, having been previously found guilty or adjudicated delinquent for any crime of violence as defined by R.S. 14:2(B), or attempt or conspiracy to commit any such offense, shall upon a first or subsequent conviction be fined not less than $500 and not more than $1000 and shall be imprisoned with or without hard labor for not less than 6 months and not more than 5 years. At least 90 days shall be served without benefit of probation, parole, or suspension of sentence.