Almost every day in Shreveport, Caddo Parish, someone is charged with a crime involving alcohol, including DWI. Drinking whole intoxicated is a very serious offense before the law as it may lead to more than just community service. DWI first and second offense carries up to 6 month jail time.
Shreveport is a city in Louisiana and there are several rules on this matter. Driving while intoxicated is a crime of driving or operating a car, vessel, watercraft, aircraft and any other means of transportation when:
· You are under the heavy influence of alcoholic beverages
· You are under the influence of controlled substances such as schedule I, schedule II, III, IV or V
· You are under the influence of drugs and alcohol
· The alcoholic concentration in your blood is about 0.08 percent
· You are under the influence of legally obtained or prescribed drugs. In this case, you got Intoxicated due to an overdose
If you are found in any of the above situations while driving, then you are guilty of DWI. Of course, if a law official sees you, you will be arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated.
Immediately you've been arrested, you need to keep calm. Let the official see your driver's license as well as other registered documents of your vehicle. This situation exactly why you should always drive with a driver's license and other papers. If they are missing or you are not with them, it will incur other charges.
Again, you may be asked to undergo a drug test. This is to check if you have drugs or alcohol in your drug stream and how much of it you have. You need to take the test because if you don't, the official will suspend your driver's license for about 180 days. This would be a bad situation especially if you have a job that you need to drive around with your vehicle.
There are certain ways you can stay out of trouble as regards drinking while intoxicated. Before then, you need to know the stand of your state concerning DWI and every law that applies to it. For those living in Shreveport, the Louisiana State law on DWI has been mentioned above. It is now left for you to play the safe card. Here are a few things you need to know:
· Don't every drive when drink or under the influence of drugs
· If you must drink, do not drive. Another person should rather do the driving
· Spend the night where you are if there's no one to take you home
· Call on a taxi to take you to your destination.
Doing the above is better than having an issue with the law. DWI laws in Shreveport prohibit driving or operating any type of vehicle while intoxicated Before you'll be charged guilty of the offense, certain things need to be proven. Here they are:
· That the vehicle was in motion when you were arrested
· That you were intoxicated and therefore, your ability to drive was affected by alcohol, drugs or a combination of both.
If in any case there was an accident that results in injuring or killing a person, then you can be charged with a felony which is a more serious offense. In this way, you could be sentenced to jail for years.
In Caddo Parish, the penalty for DWI if you've been arrested for the first time is a fine of not less than $300 and not more than $1000. This would be accompanied by a jail term of not less than 6 days and no more than 6 months.
In Shreveport, DWI is a misdemeanor. This may differ from state to state though as others may consider it a felony, especially when it involves loss of lives. Again, if you've been charged with DWI twice, in the third one, it would be a felony against you.
Therefore, if you or someone you know has been arrested for DWI in Shreveport, you should not panic. You only need to talk to a professional criminal defense attorney to help you with all your legal proceedings. Don't think you don't need legal help in a situation like this. A DWI lawyer in Shreveport will know how best to handle the situation and also tell you what to expect. A lawyer's consultation is the best thing to do after an arrest.
If you or your loved one has been arrested and charged with DWI, you can easily contact us to help with the judicial proceedings. We perfectly understand the Louisiana State laws regarding DWI and this makes us suitable to help you. Again, we've had a lot of experiences handling DWI cases in Caddo Parish and have helped a lot of people handle their cases at the Caddo Parish Courthouse.
We could use our experience and skill to help minimize your charges. Our Shreveport DWI lawyers would also try to bargain with the court on your behalf. Never try to underestimate the power of legal help in your case. Therefore, reach out to us today.