In the state of Louisiana, adults are allowed to buy firearms and also carry them around openly without the need of a state permit but a concealed handgun, on the other hand, would require a state permit. There are also people who are barred from the use of carrying, possessing or even using firearms. Some places in Louisiana are off-limits to guns as well.
If you have a permit in the state of Louisiana, you can carry a concealed handgun as you wish. But In a situation where you do not have one, it is illegal to hide your firearms or other forms of dangerous weapons such as a knife, a switchblade, etc. on or close to your body. A person found guilty of violating this law is punished by up to 6 months imprisonment or is charged to pay a fine up to 500 dollars. However, these penalties vary and can increase with respect to the particular crime being committed. If the gun was used in committing any kind of violent crime or if an individual is caught possessing this weapon while possessing illegal drugs, they are tried accordingly.
For those who have a permit, although it is legal to carry a concealed handgun, it is prohibited in a certain place such as;
· Places of worship except allowed
· Permitted parades or demonstrations
· A person’s home without their consent
· Places where guns are banned.
A person under the influence can also be charged with a crime if they carry a concealed handgun either on alcohol or illegal drugs. If other people have a reasonable cause for alarm with you possessing a gun and firing it or you actually use it to commit a crime, it is punishable by the law in Shreveport Louisiana.
For a person to be allowed to possess a concealed handgun permit in the state of Louisiana, they must be at least 21 years of age and must be a resident of the state in order to complete the required firearms classes. Such an individual would also be checked for convictions of felonies or convictions of domestic violence, drug abuse, alcohol abuse, etc.
Louisiana has its own number of places where bringing your firearms is not accepted by law. Some of these places include near school properties, university campuses, bars, colleges, etc. In the eyes of the law, it is illegal to carry any gun or any form of dangerous weapons near school premises. This includes k-12 schools, universities, colleges, school buses, tech schools, etc. it even goes as far as being 1,000 feet closed to school properties. Also, these laws also have an exception. They are;
· If the gun is kept inside a Motor vehicle while the defendant has a permit
· If the defendant has a home or private property with 100 feet close to the school
· Students with guns in their dorms
· Law enforcement officers
· People with permission from the school to carry a gun.
· Students carrying a gun from their cars to a class where it is needed.
It all depends on the circumstance in which a person is in and if the law permits it or not. If a person is found guilty of breaking any of these laws, they can face up to six months in jail and get a fine of up 500 dollars for their first conviction, second conviction gets as much as 5 years in prison. A good defense attorney would be able to explain all these in details
An individual can face up to 6 months in jail or get a fine if 500 dollars if they are caught with a gun in a bar or places where alcohol is most likely served except a restaurant and that would require a handgun permit.
The state has its restrictions on people who can carry or possess firearms and those are mostly people who are underaged or have a criminal history.
People who are doing guilty of the following can face a felony charge and be punishable by at least 5 years in prison to 20 years and could get an additional fine;
· People charged with felonies such as assault and battery, weapon offenses, drug-related crimes, domestic abuse battery, etc.
This prohibition is applied for a period of 10 years after they have completed their previous sentence.
It is also considered illegal to sell a gun or give a gun to a person you know is prohibited from using or carry one due to any of the above reasons and if found guilty, can serve mandatory prison time.
Minors are people under the age of 18 and they are allowed to carry rifles and shotguns in Shreveport. However, they are prohibited from the use of handguns. However, this law has an exception and they are;
· If they are legally hunting or are on private property with consent from parents and property owners.
· If they have written permission from their parents.
An individual found guilty would be punished by ninety to 6 months in prison and get a fine. If the says minor has had other related offense, penalties could be harsher.
Criminal charges are worse when the said firearms are used in committing any form of crime and contain harsh penalties. A person could face up to fifteen years in prison if they are convicted for firing a gun recklessly in certain places where there are gatherings.
The state of Louisiana lets you exercise your right to an attorney so if you are facing criminal charges for the illegal possession, carrying or the use of firearms and other weapons, contacting a criminal defense attorney should be the very next action you take. An experienced attorney should be able to explain how the law applies to you and your situation and offer you a strong defense in the law court. Carl Barkemeyer, puts you first and give you the most aggressive representation you can ask for. Contact us today.