Getting a DWI or DUI conviction in West Baton Rouge can be detrimental to your career, education, driver’s license and finances. A DWI arrest may result in you losing your driver’s license. A DWI conviction may also result in a loss of driving privileges in Louisiana. We know all the legal aspects of a DUI arrest in Louisiana to help protect what you have worked hard to get. Contact us at 225-964-6720 is you need a West Baton Rouge DWI lawyer.
You will have the fact of the arrest on your record during the pending case. If you are convicted, you will then have a conviction on your record as well. The only way to remove the arrest and/or conviction from your record is to file an expungement. However, the case must be handled a certain way to make you eligible to file for an expungement. Never just go plead guilty. This is where an experienced West Baton Rouge DUI attorney can help.
The DWI statute provides for jail time up to six months or the judge can place the defendant on probation. In most cases, the judge will place the defendant on probation. However, your driver’s license can be suspended for at least one year as a result of the conviction.
It depends on the number of prior DWI convictions you have. If the prosecutor charges you with DWI second offense, that is a misdemeanor with 48 hours of mandatory jail time. DWI third offense and more are felonies punishable by prison time.
The DMV can suspend your license upon it being notified of you blowing over the legal limit, refusing the breathalyzer, and/or a conviction. Also, depending on the number of previous submittals, refusals, or convictions you have, the DMV could extend those suspensions. We help with minimizing the suspension of your license.
Because the officer probably felt you were trying to beat the machine. They’ve figured that one out already. Also, if the officer can’t get an accurate read, then it is considered not a read, therefore, a refusal.
He told you that because he is trying keep you cooperating so he can get more evidence on you, such as getting you to take the breathalyzer.
You may need to go to the DMV to obtain an identification card if the officer lost your license. This is required, but might help you get around. Once you hire us, we will file the proper paperwork regarding the suspension of your license. You only have 30 days from the date of arrest. Don’t wait.
It depends on your employer. First, it depends if your employer will find out. Second, it depends what your employer’s policies are regarding a DWI arrest. Louisiana is a “fire at will” state. So, employers could fire you if they want for getting a DWI arrest.
You must tell your employer if you have a duty to do so. Same with professional Boards. You may have a duty to self-report the DWI arrest. You may have an agreed obligation to notify your insurer, specifically if there was an accident.
Probably, it just depends on how we resolve the case. Most DWI first offenses can be removed from the record at some point. There are often many ways to handle a DWI case in West Baton Rouge. An experienced DWI lawyer will help.
Hiring a DWI lawyer within 30 days from the date of arrest so he can request the administrative hearing and start to examine the case. Do not wait until you start going to court. Too late then.
It depends. We go to court for our clients in West Baton Rouge so they do not have to quite often. Some cases will require your presence, such as felony DWI and pleading guilty.
Your first court date is an Arraignment in which the judge will inform you of the charge. The following court dates vary based on the progress of the case.
It depends on the type of case you have. Most times it does not matter. The judges understand that if the lawyer for the client is there, that is good enough, unless it is mandatory for the defendant to be present.
Never take advice from a police officer. NEVER.
All prosecutors and judges approach DWI pretty similarly in Louisiana. That is seriously. They worry about if the defendant will commit another DWI and kill someone. DWI is no joke in Louisiana.
The result of the case will determine that. If you lose your driver’s license, you may apply for a hardship license. If the DMV agrees to issue one, the will require you to install the ignition interlock device, aka blow and go.
Our fees are very affordable. However, DWI in Louisiana is costly because the other fees and fines just add up over a period of time.
Only if you care about your future and if you like to understand what is going on and the decisions you are making regarding your DWI case.
We have been defending clients with DWI in West Baton Rouge for over 13 years. We have defeated many DWI charges and gotten many reduced. Although we can’t promise anything, this is what we do. Contact us at 225-964-6720 if you need a West Baton Rouge DWI lawyer.