Standard Post

Louisiana Aggravated Second Degree Battery Lawyer

Aggravated Second Degree Battery in Louisiana

Is aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana a felony or misdemeanor?

Aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana is a felony grade battery charge. It is more severe than second degree battery, simple battery, and aggravated battery.

What are the penalties for aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana?

Whoever commits the crime of aggravated second degree battery shall be fined not more than ten thousand dollars or imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not more than fifteen years, or both.  At least one year of the sentence imposed shall be served without benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence if the offender knew or should have known that the victim is an active member of the United States Armed Forces or is a disabled veteran and the aggravated second degree battery was committed because of that status.

Can I get probation if I’m convicted of aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana?

Yes. Aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana is a charge in which the defendant can receive probation.  In the judge’s discretion, he/she may sentence the defendant to up to 10 years in prison, suspend the sentence or part of it, and place the defendant on probation, except as stated above. The judge may order the defendant to complete certain conditions of probation as well.  The conditions may include paying a fine and court costs, performing community service, paying restitution to the victim, attending classes, etc. Failure to complete these conditions can result in revocation of probation. The judge could then sentence the defendant to serve time with the Department of Corrections.  Felony probation is supervised by the Louisiana Probation and Parole. Probation fees in the amount of approximately $60/month must be paid.

What constitutes aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana?

Aggravated second degree battery is a battery committed with a dangerous weapon when the offender intentionally inflicts serious bodily injury.  For instance, aggravated second degree battery occurs when the offender uses a baseball bat, car, crowbar, brass knuckles, etc. If the defendant commits a battery using a gun or knife, he will most likely get charged with attempted murder. Sometimes, using a vehicle can lead to attempted murder charges as well.  There must also be serious bodily injury upon the victim as a result of the battery and the injury must be intentional.

Is aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana a crime of violence?

Yes.  Aggravated second degree battery is a crime of violence in Louisiana. This is important because if the defendant is sentenced to prison time, he must complete 85% of his sentence.  Also, a defendant cannot receive a deferred sentence under Article 893 if the charge is a crime of violence.

Is aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana a sex offense that will require me to register as a sex offender?

No.

What are the defenses to aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana?

There are various defenses to aggravated second degree battery. There are two most common defenses.  First, the defendant may assert that the aggravated second degree battery occurred, but was in self-defense. In Louisiana, you can use force against another person if that force is reasonable to protect you or someone else.  Second, the defendant can argue that the bodily injury was never intended or that it is reasonable to assume that the means in which the battery was inflicted would not result in that type of injury.

How do I handle a warrant for aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana?

You will likely have to turn yourself in on the warrant for aggravated second degree battery.  Since it is a felony offense, you will need to be booked and a bail set by a judge. The bail amount set by a judge will likely be relatively high. So, be prepared. Contact a criminal lawyer to help advise you prior to turning yourself in.

Can the victim file a lawsuit against me for aggravated second degree battery?

Yes, the victim can file a lawsuit against you for civil battery damages. This is a separate and different court case altogether. If you get served with a petition for damages, contact a lawyer ASAP to help you file an answer.

Can aggravated second degree battery be removed from my criminal record in Louisiana?

No. A conviction for aggravated second degree battery cannot be expunged or removed from one’s criminal record. However, if the case is dismissed or reduced to another charge, the arrest may be expunged.

How do I hire a lawyer for aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana?

If you need a lawyer for Aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana, Carl Barkemeyer may be able to help. He has defended clients charged with Aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana for over 14 years.  He is a criminal defense attorney in Baton Rouge that defends clients charged with Aggravated second degree battery in most parishes and cities in Louisiana. Hiring the best defense lawyer for Aggravated second degree battery is the first decision you should make after receiving the charge. Do not wait until you start going to court for the Aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana. If you can, hire your criminal lawyer immediately after you’ve been arrested so he can start to try to get you the best resolution possible.  Contact our Aggravated second degree battery lawyer in Louisiana.

Full statute for aggravated second degree battery in Louisiana

§34.7.  Aggravated second degree battery

A.  Aggravated second degree battery is a battery committed with a dangerous weapon when the offender intentionally inflicts serious bodily injury.

B.  For purposes of this Section, the following words shall have the following meanings:

(1)  “Active member of the United States Armed Forces” shall mean an active member of the United States Army, the United States Marine Corps, the United States Navy, the United States Air Force, the United States Coast Guard, or the National Guard.

(2)  “Disabled veteran” shall mean a veteran member of the United States Army, the United States Marine Corps, the United States Navy, the United States Air Force, the United States Coast Guard, or the National Guard who is disabled as determined by the United States Department of Veteran Affairs.

(3)  “Serious bodily injury” means bodily injury which involves unconsciousness, extreme physical pain or protracted and obvious disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the function of a bodily member, organ, or mental faculty, or a substantial risk of death.

C.  Whoever commits the crime of aggravated second degree battery shall be fined not more than ten thousand dollars or imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not more than fifteen years, or both.  At least one year of the sentence imposed shall be served without benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence if the offender knew or should have known that the victim is an active member of the United States Armed Forces or is a disabled veteran and the aggravated second degree battery was committed because of that status.

Acts 1997, No. 1318, §1, eff. July 15, 1997; Acts 2012, No. 40, §1.

SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION WITH OUR LAWYERS

Louisiana DWI & Criminal Lawyers

criminal lawyer

Louisiana criminal lawyers and DWI attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm providing legal defense services for clients in Baton Rouge, Ascension, Livingston, Tangipahoa, Port Allen, Alexandria, New Orleans, Lafayette, Metairie, Kenner, Gretna, Hahnville, Chalmette, Slidell, St. Tammany, St. Charles, St. John, St. Bernard, Mandeville, Covington, Shreveport, Bossier, Jefferson, Monroe, Lake Charles and all of Louisiana.

DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.

criminal defense law firm that accepts credit cards

Louisiana DWI And Criminal Law Firm

Barkemeyer Law Firm has multiple locations in Louisiana. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

 
© 2024 Barkemeyer Law Firm