Criminal Attorneys & DWI Lawyers in Covington, New Orleans, and Shreveport Louisiana
Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP) Defense Lawyer in Baton Rouge
The charge of Public Possession of Alcohol when the defendant is under 21 years of age can carry harsh consequences.
- The statute provides a possible sentence of up to six months in jail.
- Also, a conviction may result in the loss of one’s driver’s license for 180 days.
- MIP conviction can ruin a criminal record for the future.
- This is a charge that must be taken seriously.
Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP) Attorney
Alcohol will always be a popular go-to for many teenagers and young adults across the nation and Baton Rouge, Louisiana is no exception to that commonality. Parties, music festivals, colleges, etc. are all popular places for alcohol consumption especially with many underage citizens in attendance. However, a minor in possession of alcohol is a very serious offense that is commonly seen everywhere and can have devastating effects on the individual being charged. It can limit them from future opportunities like employment and applying to school and can also become a part of their permanent criminal record. Because of these reasons, it is imperative to seek legal assistance immediately if you have been charged with minor in possession of alcohol in Louisiana. Carl Barkemeyer has defended many clients charged with minor in possession of alcohol in the Baton Rouge area of Louisiana and he has extensive knowledge of the Louisiana state legal system. He will protect your rights to ensure you obtain the best possible results in your case. The prosecutor in these types of cases generally count on witnesses to help prove the case. Mr. Barkemeyer is skilled at cross-examining prosecution witnesses. He realizes that things are not always as they appear to the witness. He will use his experience and knowledge to help you develop the best-case strategy.
What is Public Possession of Alcohol?
Public Possession of Alcoholic Beverages is the name of the charge for a minor in possession of alcohol charge in Louisiana. It is a statute designed for those individuals under the age of 21 and to hold them accountable when they are found to be in illegal possession of alcohol in the state of Louisiana.
What is MIP?
It is unlawful for any person under 21 years of age to purchase or have public possession of any alcohol beverage.
What are the Penalties for Public Possession of Alcohol?
● Fine of not more than $100; and/or
● Imprisoned for not more than 6 months
What Impact Does This Have on a Driver’s License?
Additionally, the defendant may lose his driver’s license for 180 days and hardship license may be obtained only after first conviction.
What are the Consequences of a Minor in Possession of Alcohol?
The charge of Public Possession of Alcohol when the defendant is under 21 years of age can carry harsh consequences. The statute provides a possible sentence of up to six months in jail. Also, a conviction may result in the loss of one’s driver’s license for 180 days. This is a charge that must be taken seriously.
What are the Louisiana Statutes on Minor in Possession of Alcohol?
§93.12. Purchase and public possession of alcoholic beverages; exceptions; penalties
A. It is unlawful for any person under twenty-one years of age to purchase or have public possession of any alcoholic beverage.
B. (1) Whoever violates the provisions of this Section shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars or imprisoned for not more than six months, or both.
(2) Any person apprehended while violating the provisions of this Section shall be issued a citation by the apprehending law enforcement officer, which shall be paid in the same manner as provided for the offenders of local traffic violations.
(3) In addition to the penalties provided in Paragraph (1) of this Subsection, the driver’s license of any person violating the provisions of this Section may be suspended upon conviction, plea of guilty, or nolo contendere for a period of one hundred eighty days. Upon conviction, plea of guilty, or nolo contendere, the court shall surrender the driver’s license to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections for suspension in accordance with the provisions of this Section. Upon first conviction, the court may issue an order which authorizes the department to issue a restricted driver’s license upon a demonstration to the court that a hardship would result from being unable to drive to school or work. Such restrictions shall be determined by the court.
If you have been charged with minor in possession of alcohol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, it is extremely important that you contact us immediately for legal assistance. Mr. Barkemeyer has defended clients charged with minor in possession of alcohol for over 18 years. If you contact us as soon as possible, we can begin to craft a defense for your case that could potentially help you find a more positive result in your case. Our defense lawyers understand that every minor in possession of alcohol charge is different and every client is in a different situation. There are many ways to approach these types of charges. Many times, the client has a clean record and has made an embarrassing mistake. The client could have a job and personal life he needs to protect. We know how to help our clients to protect his record and personal life. The punishments and penalties for minor in possession charges in Louisiana are very stringent and should not be taken lightly. For all these reasons, we recommend you contact us right away so that we can start building the defense of your case and help you fight for your freedom in court. Feel free to contact us if you need a criminal defense lawyer for a minor in possession of alcohol charge in Louisiana. We have represented clients charged with minor in possession of alcohol in many areas of Louisiana including, Baton Rouge.
Contact the Baton Rouge Minor in Possession of Alcohol Defense Lawyers at the Barkemeyer Law Firm at (225) 964-6720 to discuss legal representation.
SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION WITH OUR LAWYERS
Louisiana DWI & Criminal Lawyers
Louisiana criminal lawyers and DWI attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm providing legal defense services for clients in Baton Rouge, Ascension, Livingston, Tangipahoa, Port Allen, Alexandria, New Orleans, Lafayette, Metairie, Kenner, Gretna, Hahnville, Chalmette, Slidell, St. Tammany, St. Charles, St. John, St. Bernard, Mandeville, Covington, Shreveport, Bossier, Jefferson, and all of Louisiana.
DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.