Criminal Attorneys & DWI Lawyers in Covington, New Orleans, and Shreveport Louisiana
Jail Time or Just a Fine? Understanding the Penalties of a DWI Misdemeanor Do you get jail time or just a fine for a DWI misdemeanor? That’s a good question and, like most good questions, it’s best answered with “that depends”. Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), also known as DUI, or Driving Under the Influence, depends […]
What is a Hardship License and Who Can Get One? A DWI, even a first offense, can leave you unable to drive. If you rely on your vehicle for work or other commitments, that could mean you losing your job, or worse. That’s where a hardship or restricted license can come in handy. Here’s everything […]
How to Get a Revoked License Back After DWI Having your license revoked is probably the third most serious punishment the state can dish out, after the death penalty and sending you to jail. A license is often revoked after a serious of previous offenses or for a first offense so grave it merits severe […]
Will I Have to Pay More Car Insurance After DUI Charges? When you have a DUI charge, you have a lot to deal with. You’re busy dealing with fines, possible community services, and classes, and spending time with your lawyer to sort things out. After you handle everything, it can be a shock to see […]
I Blew More Than .08 BAC on a Breathalyzer Test. What Now? The first thing you need to do after getting a DWI is to call a DWI lawyer so we can request the license hearing. Friday and Saturday nights are the prime opportunity to blow off some steam from the heavy work day. Your […]
Breathalyzer, Blood and Urine: Top DWI Test Methods No one wants to end up in a situation where they are pulled over by police. You may have a million reasons for being behind the wheel. Unfortunately, driving while under the influence can have serious repercussions. Hopefully, you or anyone else did not sustain any serious […]
The answer is ‘Yes.’ DWI is a criminal charge in Louisiana. It is commonly mistaken that DWI (DUI) is not a crime. It is a crime listed in the criminal statutes under La. R.S. 14:98. Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated (DWI) is a misdemeanor upon the first and second convictions. However, it is a felony […]
Whether DWI is a misdemeanor or felony depends on the number of prior convictions for DWI within 10 years prior to arrest. The ten year time frame starts from the date the defendant completed probation for the previous offense up to the date of arrest for the new offense. If the person charged with DWI […]
How Strict Are Louisiana DWI Laws? Drinking and driving laws vary from state to state with some being more aggressive than others. It is a good idea to always know the laws and punishments for where you live or are visiting if you intend to drink and then get behind the wheel of a car. […]
Heading to Court? Here’s What You Need to Know Before the DWI Court Process Driving under the influence (DUI) is a common crime in the United States. DUI statistics are both stunning and alarming at the same time. Did you know that an American dies every 2 hours due to an alcohol-related accident? Accidents involving alcohol cost […]
SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION WITH OUR LAWYERS
Louisiana DWI & Criminal Lawyers
Louisiana criminal lawyers and DWI attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm providing legal defense services for clients in Baton Rouge, Ascension, Livingston, Tangipahoa, Port Allen, Alexandria, New Orleans, Lafayette, Metairie, Kenner, Gretna, Hahnville, Chalmette, Slidell, St. Tammany, St. Charles, St. John, St. Bernard, Mandeville, Covington, Shreveport, Bossier, Jefferson, and all of Louisiana.
DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.