How Much Does A DWI Lawyer Cost In Louisiana?
The attorney’s fee for a DWI first-offense is approximately $3500 – $6,500. This fee can vary depending on the exact situation. The cost for a DWI lawyer can range up to $10,000 or more for felony DWI. We cannot give an exact fee until we know the court where the case will be, the charges, and the circumstances surrounding the defendant and the arrest. Our firm offers payment plans in the event a client cannot pay all up-front. The fees must be paid before work is done.
When our law firm is hired for a DWI case, we send a written agreement to our clients which details the extent of the representation and the exact fees. We do not send invoices or ask for more money outside of what is stipulated in the agreement. That way, our clients always know what to expect financially, with no surprises.
You Got Pulled Over And Charged With DWI
You were out driving with friends and found a fun new spot to play darts. You had several beers, but you seemed most sober to drive home. However, while you were on the road, you swerved and hit another car, a police vehicle, and the officer promptly pulled you over. You failed your field sobriety tests and were upset with the officer, so he also said you were uncooperative and resisted arrest. Now, you have all these charges and aren’t sure how much it will cost.
Over 100 Years Combined Experienced Defending DWI Cases
Well, call seasoned and effective criminal defense attorney Carl Barkemeyer, who with his staff, have over 100 years combined experience defending DWI cases throughout Louisiana. He will walk you through what needs to be done and how much it will cost so you know what to expect and there are no surprises.
The Cost Of Criminal Defense Representation Varies
Fees for criminal defense representation such as you need in this or other cases varies between $1500 and $100,000, depending on how complicated the case is, your prior offenses, and what needs to be done. The time we spend helping you and the experts we may have to call will be what will cost you the most.
Carl Barkemeyer and staff have defended clients for over 18 years in Louisiana and have seen everything for the most part, so they’re able to accurately estimate how much your case will cost because they know how much time is involved every step of the way and what is needed to give you the best possible defense. They can let you know, and are always upfront and transparent, putting everything in writing so you are confident you know what you’re getting and the work to be done on your behalf. Decisions can be make relatively quickly compared to an attorney not as familiar with your charges so they can get the ball rolling to give you the defense you need.
Carl Barkemeyer Is Well Known DWI Defense Attorney In Louisiana
Carl Barkemeyer and his attorneys have developed several relationships with judges, prosecutors, and court staff all throughout Louisiana, so they can defend you more efficiently, get better dates, and know what will be happening every step of the process. When you hire the Barkemeyer Law Firm, you are hiring him and his associates for their experience, not for them to learn the law.
Types Of Offenses And General Charges And Costs
First Offense DWI Charges And Possible Costs
First offense: You could lose your driver’s license for up to 90 days, serve 10 days to 6 months in jail, and pay $1,000 plus court-related costs. You may have to have an IID installed in your vehicle to limit if and when you can drive. You may have a criminal record.
If you spend two days in prison or four eight-hour days of community service and participate in court-approved substance abuse programs and driver improvement programs, you could have a suspended sentence.
If you’re under 21, your driving privileges may be suspended for 180 days.
Second Offense DWI And Possible Costs
Second offense: You could lose your driver’s license for up to two years, and you must serve 48 hours in jail. You could spend up to six months in jail, and you have to pay up to $1,000 I addition to court costs. You will have an IID device installed on your vehicle limiting your driving so you have to breathe into a device so ensure you are not over the limit before getting behind the wheel.
You will likely have to do a court-approved substance abuse program, a driver impairment program, and/or a community service project. You will have to pay for the costs associated with these programs, which can vary. You may have a criminal record now.
Third Offense DWI And Possible Costs
Third offense: This is considered a felony and you will have your driver’s license suspended for up to four years. You must spend 30 days in prison and can be in there up to 10 years. You may also possibly have to do house arrest before or after your prison time. You will pay a fine of up to $2,000 and court costs. You will have an installation of IID on your vehicle.
Hiring A DWI Attorney For Your DWI Charges
Although the money doesn’t seem like a lot, losing your job, your license, and your liberty are costs that may also severely affect you. That’s why it pays to have the most experienced criminal defense attorney on your side for your DWI case. Carl Barkemeyer and his associates have been defending DUI and DWI cases throughout Louisiana for over 18 years. Let them put their experience and knowledge and connections throughout the legal system work for you so you can get the best possible defense and avoid all the severe punishments you could face. Rest assured that Carl and his staff will be upfront, charge you fair rates, and give you an excellent defense to minimize the damage so you can move on and have a peaceful life.