DWI Lawyers Serving All Areas of Louisiana

Reckless Operation Defense Attorney

Reckless Operation Defense Attorney

Reckless Operation of a Vehicle in Shreveport

Reckless operation of a vehicle is the operation of any motor vehicle in a criminally negligent or reckless manner. This is a misdemeanor criminal charge that may result in a suspension of your driver’s license.

reckless operation criminal lawyers Shreveport
reckless operation criminal lawyers Shreveport

This is NOT merely a traffic ticket. It is a real criminal charge that includes possible jail time if the judge so ordered. Your criminal background will show the reckless driving charge as an arrest entry soon after you get the summons. The only way to get your criminal record clean is to file a Motion to Expunge. But, you can only do that if the case is resolved in way that makes you eligible to file that motion. Our criminal lawyers can help with all of this.

Reckless Operation of a Vehicle is a criminal misdemeanor charge in Louisiana.

Many times, the police officer will keep the driver’s license and issue a summons to appear in court. This is a case when a reckless operation defense lawyer can help. At the Barkemeyer Law Firm, our Shreveport reckless operation defense lawyers know how to keep you driving legally and protect your criminal record. We defend clients with reckless driving charges in Shreveport, Bossier, Webster and all other locations in Louisiana.

Reckless Operation charges most frequently occur in two scenarios:

First, the driver may catch a reckless driving charge if he is speeding way over the speed limit. Instead of the officer issuing only a speeding ticket, he will issue a speeding ticket and a reckless operation summons.  Therefore, the defendant gets hit with a traffic ticket and a criminal charge.

Second, when a police officer makes an arrest for DUI, he will often tack on a reckless driving charge. You might be asking, “but I was told I was speeding only 10 mph over the speed limit, How is that reckless?” The answer is that the officer added reckless driving because operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs could be seen as operating a vehicle in a criminally reckless manner.

If you were giving the summons in Caddo Parish, you may have court in either Caddo Parish District Court or Shreveport City Court, depending on which arresting agency gave you the summons. If you received the summons in Bossier Parish, you could have court in Bossier City Court or Bossier Parish District Court.

reckless operation criminal defense attorney near me
reckless operation criminal defense attorney

What Are the Consequences of Reckless Operation?

If you have received a reckless driving summons in Louisiana, you may be wondering what the consequences are. There are several consequences, including fines, suspension of your driving privileges, and even jail time. However, there are some ways to reduce your consequences. This article will explore the penalties of reckless driving in Louisiana and help you understand your options. Read on to discover what to do if you are convicted of a reckless driving offense.

Penalties for Reckless Operation in Louisiana under La. R.S. 14:99

First Offense: Whoever commits the crime of reckless operation of a vehicle in Shreveport or Bossier shall be fined not more than $200, or imprisoned for not more than 90 days, or both.

Second Offense:  On a second or subsequent conviction the offender shall be fined $25-500, or imprisoned for not less than 10 days nor more than 6 months, or both.

If you’ve ever been caught speeding or doing something incredibly dangerous behind the wheel, you might be wondering what the penalties are for reckless driving in Louisiana. Essentially, reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor offense and carries a maximum fine of $200, 90 days in jail, and a blemish on your driving record. In addition, if you’ve been convicted of reckless driving on more than one occasion, you can expect your license to be suspended for two years.

If you’ve ever been arrested for reckless operation in Louisiana, it’s vital that you retain legal counsel. This charge is very serious and carries the possibility of jail time or a license suspension. In addition, a criminal record will prevent you from getting certain types of employment. A legal attorney can also negotiate a favorable plea agreement to resolve your case quickly and efficiently. Here’s how to get a plea deal for reckless driving in Louisiana:

Reckless driving in Louisiana is a misdemeanor offense that can lead to incarceration. Although a conviction for reckless driving is rare, penalties for a second offense can be very severe. A driver who causes a fatal accident may have his license suspended for two years. In addition, the driver can be ordered to perform up to 250 hours of community service. While these penalties may seem lenient, the effects of a second reckless operation conviction could impact a person’s future. Therefore, it is crucial that people who are charged with reckless driving have solid defenses and are willing to fight for their freedom in court.

Alternatives to paying a fine

If you have received a reckless driving summons in Louisiana, you may be wondering whether you can do something about it without paying the fine. There are a few alternatives to paying the fine, including avoiding court costs and completing traffic school. In addition, it is important to note that a traffic ticket can impact your credit score and raise your insurance rates. Here are a few of them.

Reckless driving is an extremely serious offense. In Louisiana, reckless driving is a criminal misdemeanor, and the punishment for a first offense is up to 90 days in jail and $200 in fines. Repeated convictions of reckless driving within a year can result in a two-year driver’s license suspension. It is also an extremely frustrating experience to be accused of reckless driving and have to pay a reckless driving summons.

Loss of driving privileges

In Louisiana, you may face disqualification from your CMV driving privileges if you fail to pay your ticket within a set period of time. In addition, you may lose your license for a certain period of time if you violate an out-of-service order. If you are convicted of a traffic violation in Louisiana, you must notify your employer within 30 days of your conviction. Depending on the severity of your violation, you may lose your license for a number of reasons.

In addition to a fine, a driver’s license is suspended if they have accumulated more than six points within a specified period of time. Some states use a point system; others don’t. Depending on the severity of the moving violation, you may face additional consequences, including the suspension of your license. You can find out how many points you will receive if you receive a reckless operation summons in Louisiana by calling the DMV in the state. Most states have online services that let you request your driving record for a small fee.

Reckless driving is a serious crime in Louisiana. While the charge itself is fairly straightforward, there are many different types of activities that fall under it. The term “reckless” is broad and includes any activity that disregards the safety of others. It may also include operating motorcycles or aircraft. In addition to these, it may also involve criminally negligent driving. Regardless of the type of driving, the punishment is serious enough to put your daily life at risk.

If you’re suspended from your license for more than thirty days, you can still apply for car insurance. You’ll need to find a high-risk insurance company that accepts drivers with suspended licenses, but you should be able to prove that you’ve been suspended from your license for a short period of time and that you’ve since reinstated your privileges. The insurance company will likely consider this if you can prove that you have been convicted of the charges against you.

Jail time

There are several ways to avoid spending time in jail after receiving a reckless driving summons in Louisiana. For starters, you should never disregard safety, even if it means speeding up a few miles. Even if you did not mean to do it, reckless driving is an offense that will appear on your driving record. In addition, reckless driving will add a criminal record to your record, which may prevent you from getting certain jobs. The best way to avoid spending any time in jail is to seek legal advice before pleading guilty to reckless driving.

reckless operation in shreveport
Reckless Operation in Louisiana is taken seriously by judges.

Reckless driving can be a simple action, such as speeding or accelerating without signaling. Reckless operation, however, is a broad charge that encompasses several activities. It includes any activity that could be viewed as reckless, including motorcycle and aircraft operation. Jail time for reckless driving summons in Louisiana is in extreme cases the maximum ninety days.

Reckless driving is a misdemeanor in Louisiana, which can result in a driving ban, an unlimited fine, or even a prison sentence of up to 5 years. Most violations stay on your record for five years, while DWI-related charges can be for as long as 10 years. It’s always a good idea to order a copy of your driving record, even if you do not know your own driving record. Fortunately, this offense does not affect your insurance or demerit points, so you can get your license back.

Reckless Operation Lawyer in Shreveport & Bossier

Our criminal defense attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm can help you with your reckless operation summons in Shreveport, Bossier and anywhere else in Louisiana. Take a look at out practice areas and keep in mind that we are a team of criminal defense attorneys that handle reckless operation charges very frequently. You can learn more about our Shreveport criminal attorneys or take a look at our office locations at your convenience. Feel free to contact us to start the process of hiring our firm.

For the best reckless operation lawyers in Shreveport and Bossier, contact Barkemeyer Law Firm!


Louisiana DWI & Criminal Lawyers

criminal lawyer

Louisiana criminal lawyers and DWI attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm providing legal defense services for clients in Baton Rouge, Ascension, Livingston, Tangipahoa, Port Allen, Alexandria, New Orleans, Lafayette, Metairie, Kenner, Gretna, Hahnville, Chalmette, Slidell, St. Tammany, St. Charles, St. John, St. Bernard, Mandeville, Covington, Shreveport, Bossier, Jefferson, Monroe, Lake Charles and all of Louisiana.

DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.

criminal defense law firm that accepts credit cards

Louisiana DWI And Criminal Law Firm

Barkemeyer Law Firm has multiple locations in Louisiana. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

© 2024 Barkemeyer Law Firm