DWI Lawyers Serving All Areas of Louisiana

what happens if you get a DWI in Louisiana?

What Happens if You Get a DWI in Louisiana?

What Happens if You Get a DWI in Louisiana?

If you are in Louisiana and you happen to receive a DWI, you are probably wondering, what happens if you get a DWI in Louisiana? Driving can often be a fun experience, but it can be dangerous if one does it while under the influence. This is why you should never drive while under the influence, as it is dangerous for yourself and others driving on the road.

If you are ready to learn about what happens when you get a DWI in Louisiana, then settle in, and let’s get started!

arrested for DWI DUI in New Orleans
arrested for DWI DUI in New Orleans

You Will be Made to Undertake a Breath Test

When first arrested for a DWI in Louisiana, you will be asked to undergo a breath test to test your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). If your BAC is over 0.08%, you will be arrested for a DWI as you are over the legal level of intoxication. However, the severity of your sentence will depend on how much over the legal limit you are found to be. 

If your BAC is found to be over .15%, you may have to serve a jail sentence of at least 48 hours, though it can be for longer. If it is over .20%, your jail sentence will still be a minimum of 48 hours, but you may also have to pay a $750 to $1000 fine, alongside an ignition interlock device for a year after your license is restored to you. 

You Could be Placed on Probation 

When you get a DWI in Louisiana, you will usually be placed on some form of probation. While probation is not always an option, there is a high chance you will be. The only time when you usually will not be placed on probation is if you received your DWI with passengers under the age of 13 in the vehicle or caused injuries to another party or it is a felony DWI.

If the judge gives you probation, you must serve a certain amount of community service hours. The number of hours required increases each time you receive another DWI. For your first DWI, you must complete 32 hours of community service. Your second and third DWIs require 240 hours of community service, while your fourth will require 320 hours. 

Besides serving community hours as part of your probation, there are also a few other requirements you will have to meet. The court will usually require you to complete two different types of programs to show you have learned your lesson. These are a court-approved substance abuse program and a driver improvement program. 

Your Driver’s License May be Suspended

Alongside being placed on probation when receiving a DWI in Louisiana, you will likely also have your license suspended. When receiving your first DWI, you will have your license suspended for 12 months, though you can sometimes receive a hardship license if you install an ignition interlocked device and get SR-22 insurance. 

If you have a BAC of over .20%, your driver’s license will be suspended for two years. You can apply for a hardship license if you install an ignition interlocked device in your vehicle. The hardship license allows you to drive to and from work, school, and home but can not be used to go anywhere else. Failure to follow these rules can result in serious consequences. 

Special Occasions Concerning Your Driver’s License Suspension

When it comes to your driver’s license being suspended after a DWI in Louisiana, several other occasions may occur not related to your blood alcohol content. If you fail your BAC test, your license could be suspended for 90 – 12 months, depending if you appeal. Our DWI attorneys handle the appeal process for you. 

If you refuse the breathalyzer, your license may be suspended for a year since you are legally required to submit to a breath test if you are pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence. If you refuse to take the BAC test, then your license could be suspended by the DMV. However, you can apply for a hardship license if you did not cause bodily injuries. 

Conclusion: What Happens If You Get A DWI In Louisiana

If you are arrested for DWI in Louisiana, it’s important that you hire the best criminal defense attorney. Barkemeyer Law Firm is a criminal defense law firm with locations throughout Louisiana. They handle DWI and DUI cases very regularly and can help you get the best shot for your DWI charges. You can also check out our blog for important news, tips and information – but it’s crucial you hire a lawyer!

If you want to know what happens if you get a DWI in Louisiana you should have the answer to your question.


Louisiana DWI & Criminal Lawyers

criminal lawyer

Louisiana criminal lawyers and DWI attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm providing legal defense services for clients in Baton Rouge, Ascension, Livingston, Tangipahoa, Port Allen, Alexandria, New Orleans, Lafayette, Metairie, Kenner, Gretna, Hahnville, Chalmette, Slidell, St. Tammany, St. Charles, St. John, St. Bernard, Mandeville, Covington, Shreveport, Bossier, Jefferson, Monroe, Lake Charles and all of Louisiana.

DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.

criminal defense law firm that accepts credit cards

Louisiana DWI And Criminal Law Firm

Barkemeyer Law Firm has multiple locations in Louisiana. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

© 2024 Barkemeyer Law Firm