Criminal Attorneys & DWI Lawyers in Covington, New Orleans, and Shreveport Louisiana
Hit and Run in Louisiana
Are you facing hit and run charges in Louisiana? This page will explain everything you need to know about dealing with a Louisiana hit and run case.
Hit And Run Charges In Louisiana
The criminal charge of Hit and Run is the intentional failure of the driver of a vehicle involved in or causing any accident, to stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident, to give his identity, and to render reasonable aid. The Louisiana statute is found in La. R.S. 14:100. Hit and run, or fleeing the scene of an accident, can be a misdemeanor or felony charge, depending on the facts of the case. If it can be proven that the driver knew, or should have known that the accident caused death or serious bodily injury, then the charge becomes a felony hit and run.
Penalties for Hit and Run
Hit and Run and Alcohol Consumption
The penalties get worse if the prosecutor can prove you were drinking. The law states that the defendant shall be fined not more $500, imprisoned for not less than 10 days nor more than 6 months, or both. That means the judge must put you in jail for at least 10 days. The following must be proven:
- there is evidence that the vehicle operator consumed alcohol or used drugs or a controlled dangerous substance prior to the accident;
- the consumption of the alcohol, drugs, or a controlled dangerous substance contributed to the accident; and
- the driver failed to stop, give his identity, or render aid with the knowledge that his actions could affect an actual or potential present, past, or future criminal investigation or proceeding.
Felony Hit and Run
Felony hit and run charges occur when death or serious bodily injury occurs as a result of the accident. The penalties get severe. The Louisiana law states that the defendant shall be fined not more than five thousand dollars or imprisoned with or without hard labor for not more than ten years, or both.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
The penalties for a Louisiana hit-and-run are extremely harsh. It can cost you your license and can even lead to jail time. Drivers who flee the scene of an accident will face penalties of five to 20 years in prison and hard labor. According to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, Louisiana has the most hit-and-run crashes per 100,000 residents. Despite this high number, hit-and-run accidents are extremely common. Statistics show that a hit-and-run accident causes nearly one in every seven crashes. During these accidents, there are 41 fatalities and more than 138,500 injuries.
Leaving the scene of an accident may be tempting. After all, who wants to sit at the scene of an accident? However, doing so may have major legal and financial consequences. You are required by law to remain at the scene of an accident unless you are unable to stop or render assistance. A Louisiana hit-and-run charge may be a more serious crime. It’s important to contact a lawyer immediately after an accident to avoid the possibility of a wrongful conviction.
Leaving the scene of a car accident is an extremely serious offense. When you fail to stop and render assistance to the other party, you are breaking the law. You may be charged with a hit-and-run in Louisiana, even if you’re innocent.
Insurance Coverage for a Hit-and-Run in Louisiana
If you are facing a hit-and-run criminal charge, it is imperative to know how much your policy will cover.
The legal penalties for a hit-and-run criminal conviction in Louisiana can be steep. The resulting financial and legal consequences could include fines, license confiscation, and vehicle impoundment. Additionally, if you’re the uninsured driver in the accident, the other party may not have enough insurance to pay for the damages. In Louisiana, this crime can carry a prison sentence of six months.
The driver may also be subject to a license suspension. Louisiana law requires that drivers involved in a hit-and-run accident stop their vehicles and render assistance to anyone who is injured. Leaving the scene of the accident is a criminal charge in Louisiana, and it can result in steep insurance premiums and other penalties. While you may not have been at fault for a hit-and-run accident in Louisiana, it is worth pursuing to protect yourself and your family from this potentially severe charge.
Contacting a Hit-and-Run Defense Attorney
If you have been involved in an auto accident in Louisiana, contacting a hit-and-run attorney is an excellent way to ensure that you do not face jail time for the incident. The law requires drivers to stop and provide information if someone needs help, but if you do not, you have committed a crime known as hit and run. These criminal charges are often extremely severe, and if you have been accused of a hit-and-run, you should not take any chances.
If you have been involved in a hit-and-run in Louisiana, it is important to contact a hit-and-run attorney immediately. In cases of severe damage, the judge may even jail the defendant for up to six months.
In the event of a hit-and-run accident, the injured person may be able to seek compensation from the at-fault driver or the owner of the vehicle. Victims can also seek compensation from the driver’s insurance company. If you or a loved one has been charged with a hit-and-run, contact a Louisiana hit and run attorney as soon as possible.
Choose Barkemeyer Law Firm For Hit And Run Charges
Barkemeyer Law Firm is the best firm to choose for any hit and run charges you may be facing in Louisiana. We have multiple locations and a team of criminal defense attorneys who can help you through the process and any charges you may be facing. Contact us today to speak to one of our attorneys about hit and run charges Louisiana.
SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION WITH OUR LAWYERS
Louisiana DWI & Criminal Lawyers
Louisiana criminal lawyers and DWI attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm providing legal defense services for clients in Baton Rouge, Ascension, Livingston, Tangipahoa, Port Allen, Alexandria, New Orleans, Lafayette, Metairie, Kenner, Gretna, Hahnville, Chalmette, Slidell, St. Tammany, St. Charles, St. John, St. Bernard, Mandeville, Covington, Shreveport, Bossier, Jefferson, and all of Louisiana.
DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.